Chinese Spam Update

18 September 2003 · 0 comments

My own domain hosting provider can’t do anything as the spammer isn’t using their mail server. I’m disappointed they aren’t interested as they claim to be one of the best hosts and I pay them twice what I pay to a local provider I use for my other domain names. A chap called Michael in [...]

 

My own domain hosting provider can’t do anything as the spammer isn’t using their mail server. I’m disappointed they aren’t interested as they claim to be one of the best hosts and I pay them twice what I pay to a local provider I use for my other domain names.

A chap called Michael in the UK emailed me and another person to say:

We’re suffering from the same joejob spammers in China as you are. So far we have had nearly 500 bounces from servers rejecting the spam. I wonder how many are getting through? I’ve also complained to what I believe to be his hosts. Do let me know whether you think there is anything we can do together to stop this.

Julian also received Michael’s email and replied:

I have thus far had in excess of 200 auto-responder emails telling me that something I supposedly sent couldn’t be delivered. I shudder to think how many did reach their intended target.

The “joejobbing” which Michael refers to is generally a malicious attack. I have no reason to believe this person in China is maliciously using my domain name, but it’s a mystery to me whty he’s using my domain name at all. I’ve now received over 300 bounces all to fictitious addresses at firstbite.co.nz. My email to the only address I was able to track down in relation to his domain names (Gzagent@paycenter.com.cn) has not received a reply.

Clip to Evernote

Be the first to comment ⇒

Tell us what you think.
Note: there may be a delay before your comment appears. I now approve all comments from new visitors, in an attempt to keep spam at bay.

Add your Comment

Older Post:

Newer Post: