Flickr’s an excellent service. I don’t actually use it much because I have my photos at Oddity59, but I have a handful of photos there.
Occasionally someone I know comes across my photos there and adds me as a contact.
Yesterday, though, someone I’d never heard of added me as a contact — I received an email notification of this:
You are [name]’s newest contact! If you don’t know [name], [name] is probably a fan of your photostream or wants a bookmark so they can find you again.
I went to take a look. First I was struck that this man had around 16 contacts listed, all female. Then I visited his photos. The first one I saw I found to be a somewhat grotesque black and white drawing of a naked woman with prominent and oddly-shaped breasts.
It was the kind of thing I’ve seen in some comic books or comic strips — a fairly common stereotypical, grotesque, representation of a female.
I scrolled down. The next drawing was similar in style but showed detailed genitalia.
By the time I saw the third image, fairly clearly pornographic and explicit, I had had more than enough and definitely didn’t want any kind of connection with this man, however tenuous. I wanted to be unlinked from this supposed ‘contact’. I definitely didn’t want anyone finding their way from my photos to his drawings.
I soon discovered that I could ‘block‘ him. A blocked person:
- Can’t comment on your photos. All comments on your photos that they make are deleted.
- Are removed as your contact, and you are removed as theirs. They can’t add you as a contact again.
- Can’t add your photos as favorites. Any of your photos marked as their favorites are removed.
- Can’t blog your photos
- Can’t add notes or tags. Any notes and tags they added to your photos are removed.
- Can’t send you FlickrMail
Thank heaven for that!